Community Spotlight: Cathie

Lizzie
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Community Spotlight: Cathie

Community Spotlights.pngHello everyone,

I am please to announce we have our next Community Spotlight. To recap, the Community Spotlight is where we ask one community member a few questions,  to get to know them a little better.

One thing to add, I thought it was about time we had our own Community Spotlight series illustration (only visable here in the CC!), so I hope you like it! 🙂

Here we go...introducing....Cathie.png 

Darwin, Australia

How long have you been hosting for and why did you first start?

I’m a relatively newbie to Airbnb as my first guests booked in May 2016, whilst I was on a holiday in Adelaide. I remember the butterflies deep in the tummy when I accepted the request for July. Nervous as! But prior to that, Garry and I had been hosting young adults who had come to Darwin for intensive English lessons through a university homestay program. We usually had two individuals of the same gender sharing the Airbnb space, always from different countries so they couldn’t speak their native language. They would stay usually for a month, and we formed strong bonds with most of them. We fed them for every meal and sat and practised conversations and English daily. Although it was lovely, Airbnb is definitely an easier form of hosting!

Tell us a little about your listing