Help with cleanliness rating

Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

Help with cleanliness rating

I scrub and clean my house before guests come, however I still get low ratings for cleaniness.  I am a professional cleaner and very disappointed when I get these ratings.

At the moment my house needs a bit of a maintenance of painting here and there for chips on the skirting boards etc its not a lot but would that be a reason why I get low cleaniness ratings?

It is an older style house built in the 70s and has been renovated.  I still get "old" house.

Even though the lady who stayed at my house who called by house old had a bnb  house that was 50's retro style.  Again I am confused.

Can anyone give me some advice.

Thanks  Jill  Paynesville  Vic

33 Replies 33
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Jill520  Some people just need something to complain about, and many just can't differentiate between "older and could use a bit of maintenance" and "not clean". It's unfortunate and I don't know that you can do anything about it.

I remember a post from a host in New Orleans- she had a turn-of-the-century home. Same thing- some guests said it was old and shabby (mostly the younger guests who favor the Ikea look), which of course upset her. Meanwhile the house was filled with impressive antique furniture (not to mention the inate architectural details of the home) and she had reviews that reflected how impressd many guests were with the whole place, calling it amazing, a historical gem, and so on. One guest wrote that he could barely sleep, he was so excited about the 40's fridge that actually still worked.