Help with cleanliness rating

Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

Help with cleanliness rating

I scrub and clean my house before guests come, however I still get low ratings for cleaniness.  I am a professional cleaner and very disappointed when I get these ratings.

At the moment my house needs a bit of a maintenance of painting here and there for chips on the skirting boards etc its not a lot but would that be a reason why I get low cleaniness ratings?

It is an older style house built in the 70s and has been renovated.  I still get "old" house.

Even though the lady who stayed at my house who called by house old had a bnb  house that was 50's retro style.  Again I am confused.

Can anyone give me some advice.

Thanks  Jill  Paynesville  Vic

33 Replies 33
Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

That sounds like good advice.  Yes, I am snoozing for awhile and doing some renovations and thinking, about the adds as you suggested.

Thanks Andrew

@Jill520   "maintenance of painting here and there for chips on the skirting boards"

Yes most definitely, some people think new is clean and old is dirty, someone on this forum mentioned their collector's item Persian rug being reviewed badly, another their old but renovated wooden floors.  I get the same, my place is old and somewhat shabby as are my "scrubbed clean, white, worn floors"  a review from a farmer.  The floors would cost a fortune to replace so there are few options, carpets cover some of the floor but are not wall-to-wall. I mention it the description, 'shabby', some people do take note.

Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

I am taking my listing off for a year and in the meantime I will do some patching up by painting where it needs it.  and maybe ripping up the carpet in the hallway  and putting vinyl look boards down.

I would love to do more renovating but cannot afford it, unfortunately.

I am a professional cleaner.

Regards JM

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

new = clean

old = dirty