Help with cleanliness rating

Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

Help with cleanliness rating

I scrub and clean my house before guests come, however I still get low ratings for cleaniness.  I am a professional cleaner and very disappointed when I get these ratings.

At the moment my house needs a bit of a maintenance of painting here and there for chips on the skirting boards etc its not a lot but would that be a reason why I get low cleaniness ratings?

It is an older style house built in the 70s and has been renovated.  I still get "old" house.

Even though the lady who stayed at my house who called by house old had a bnb  house that was 50's retro style.  Again I am confused.

Can anyone give me some advice.

Thanks  Jill  Paynesville  Vic

33 Replies 33
Mary1211
Level 5
Somerville, MA

I can relate to this, I've started bringing in professional cleaners with each stay and still I'll get dinged for something like a tortilla chip crumb between the wall and the fridge, or the sponge had been used previously.  It's hard not to feel defeated.

Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

Oh yes there are nitpickers out there.

Jill520
Level 2
Paynesville, Australia

Some people are very pretty.

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Jill520  I would echo what other hosts have said. More and better photos of the interior (the outside shots of your garden and seating area are lovely, clear and bright, keep those), take a couple shots of the bedroom, where guests are going to be spending most of their time when home, from different angles so they can see what's provided there- a closet? a desk? a chair? And of course the bathroom. 

It doesn't look all that cluttered to me, but maybe it's usually more cluttered day-to-day than when you arranged things for the photos? What it is, is old-fashioned decor, and guests seem to prefer clean lines, and a more modern look. But it's your home, so you should decorate and furnish as you like, just try to keep it simple and clear.