Nervous every single time...

Elizabeth429
Level 10
Madrid, Spain

Nervous every single time...

Hello everyone,

Here I am figuratively biting my nails over my last guest. 

I have been hosting for a little over six months. I rent out my one bedroom flat only at weekends to get a little bit of money out of it.

I have had very good experiences with the exception of one or two guests. Overall I cant complaint.

I get so excited every time I get a reservation which happens quite often; however, every time a new guest comes into my home, I cannot help but feel nauseated. I get really nervous for letting strangers stay at my home. Some guests are so lovely they make me feel at easy almost immediately after I meet them. Others not so much.

PD. my guest for the weekend is a lovely lady from Scotland. VERY happy weekend for me 🙂

Am I the only one!?!?

6 Replies 6
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

Hello @Elizabeth429. I guess that feeling is known to every host, especially a female host. You'll see your confidence grow over time. And maybe the skin a bit too. 😉

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"
Rene-and-Zac0
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Elizabeth429 I feel the exact same way every time I have a guest check in.

When I started out, the house I bought was trashed. It was used as government subsidized housing for a few years , so it was in very bad repair. 

We worked for about six months repairing, cleaning and correcting a long list of things that had to be done.

I just made a list of everything that had to be done and started checking of items as we went. 

Finally we opened for guests but there were still many little issues that hadn’t been addressed but we had to open because we needed the cash flow.

So I was always a wreck, hoping the guests wouldn’t complain about the issues we didn’t get to yet. One of our first Groups pulled the shower control off the wall causing a huge mess and then we repaired the shower but it was dripping still.