No profile photo accessibility before booking or never

Sunshine4
Level 10
Nevada City, CA

No profile photo accessibility before booking or never

I am seriously considering to stop being a host. I am very frustrated!! I have been hosting for  5 years mostly as a super host. Now, that Airbnb changed their policy about availing photos of guests before the reservation is booked and has no policy as to guests even requiring a photo at all, I am declining more reservations than before. I feel very uncertain and unsafe about allowing guests into my world who do not have reviews, or no reviews for years, no real profile and of course no photo available to me. How can I feel safe. Airbnb seems to take the side of the guests and protects them more than their hosts. It is we hosts, who run a bigger risk than the guests, it is we who open our homes and lives to perfect strangers! My photo is avaialble to the guests and I could be discriminated against as well!

2 Replies 2
Alice595
Level 10
Concord, CA

@Sunshine4 This is the most stupid decision ever made by Airbnb. In this forum, it has been posted so many times and so many hosts have complained with no vail.

To live with it, I ask more questions before I accept a booking. And I start to ask guest to upload a government Id. If no verified Id is provided, definitely I reject the booking request. I also ask the guest to provide the full name, the residence city, sex, and age. If they don't provide any of these information, I will not accept the request. That is how much I can do to protect myself and my property. I also start trying to turn Instant Booking off so that I can also screen those guests with reviews.

Hope you and other hosts can also share the measures taken for safety and security. 

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Sunshine4