Perfectionists?

Arun6
Level 2
Kerala, India

Perfectionists?

I have been hosting on Airbnb for about 6+ months now and I am a Superhost as well. Airbnb community is an excellent concept and benefits both the host and the guest. The goal of being a Superhost (and maintaining it) keeps the host on their toes which gives the guest a great selection of hosts to choose from. So the concept and they way Airbnb has design the whole platform is excellent; but isn't it pushing the hosts (particularly the Superhosts) to become perfectionists where they fear the guest may find even a minute problem? Fear lurks behind perfectionism in the quest for making everything perfect for the guest; fear about the review and rating. Anything can happen in a house anytime that needs repair like the Air Conditioner stops working or plumbing repairs, etc. and your mind would keep worrying if something may happen that can inconvenience the guests resulting in a not-so-good review. Remember that even a 4/5 rating is considered as a not-so-good review for a Superhost as that would bring down the overall rating under 80% 5 star ratings). While I was at a meditation retreat recently I thought about it and wondered if it is really worth to do it and what I can do to ease the mind while striving to maintain the Superhost status. I would love to hear your thoughts about it too!

8 Replies 8
Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

@Arun6

I feel your pain - my next guests are due in one hour and I hardly dare move around my own place in the fear of dropping a hair on the stairs. Only for them to walk all over the place in their dirty shoes....

Wendy-and-Frank0
Level 10
Stonington, CT

Disclose EVERYTHING to the guests by e-mail via the ABB platform.  If the AC breaks down, let them know before arrival and let them know when the contractor will repair it.  I find that most people can deal with just about anything if they know ahead of time.  It's the surprise that ticks folks off.