Problem guest - WFH & requesting to cook

Mohini0
Level 2
Northwood, United Kingdom

Problem guest - WFH & requesting to cook

I've looked at lots of different forums, but I thought I would try to get some advice directly. 

I have been hosting for about 8 months now and I have mostly had business travellers which stay for a short time.  I am currently hosting a guest who is staying for 28 days (the longest booking we've had so far) and when I enquired about his purpose of trip  (business/pleasure) he stated business.  I was therefore led to believe he would most likely be out of the flat working all day, however we quickly found out this was not the case at all and he is working from home all day everyday from our (shared) living/dining room.  The biggest issue is in the evening, as he is still sitting on our dining table from when we get home from work until we go to bed (6pm - 11:30pm).  We use our living room as a place to unwind, watch tv, have a chat, but now this has become very uncomfortable and we are now renegated to our bedroom.  

The other issue is the guest has asked me if they can cook in our kitchen, even though we have listed the kitchen as limited usage only (no stove, oven, cookware).  I was put on the spot and guest pleaded that I allow them to cook as they were staying long term.  I definetly think the guest had not read the rules prior to booking.  I felt like I was really put on the spot so I (stupidly) said yes.  The issue is that the guest is not very clean when using the kitchen. I have found the stove messy and although I have asked the guest to please tidy up after themselves (showing them the wash cloths and how I would like the kitchen to be left), but I am still ending up spending time cleaning up after them. 

My house manual does say to 'leave kitchen as you have found it' - however I have used this experience to make this section a bit more comprehensive.