Scary guest

Ruth584
Level 1
Colchester, United Kingdom

Scary guest

Hi everybody,

I am very new to airbnb (last week actually) and am booked solidly. Probably because I'm cheap! I rent a private room in my cottage and I live there, alone. I am a 71 year old female,who is fiesty and not backward in coming forward. But, last night, this guy freaked me out and I hadn't a clue what to do about it. He was aggressive and I was uneasy to say the least until he left this morning. What do other people do in this situation? I contacted airbnb but didn't get a response until this morning. I don't want to be a wimp about this but surely you have the right to feel safe in your own house. After this month I am taking a break from airbnb to regroup and rethink.

9 Replies 9
Ana1136
Level 10
Ohrid, Macedonia (FYROM)

@Ruth584 You can choose to host only female guests, personally that is what I would do. It is good that the guest left and nothing happened but if anything like this happens again it is good to remain calm and don't let things escalate. You can call Airbnb and cancel the reservation so that the guest has to leave at that moment but it is good to have someone as a support if you are dealing with an aggressive person. Make sure to leave an honest review to warn other hosts. 

Ruth584
Level 1

Thank you Ana. I'm not sure that reviews actually mean very much,because this guy had good reviews!

Ana1136
Level 10
Ohrid, Macedonia (FYROM)

@Ruth584 you can be sure that it means a lot, it doesn't matter how good his other reviews are. And I saw your question below, to answer it, no it is not discriminatory to only host female guests if you are renting a shared space, just specify it in the listing description. 

Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada