Single use shampoos and how many to provide

Manuel621
Level 2
Sydney, Australia

Single use shampoos and how many to provide

Hi, 

I am new to hosting and trying to work out what suits me best when it comes to providing shampoo and conditioner. If i state that i offer shampoo and conditioner and i provide single use (travel size) do i then need to provide one per person per day? or just have one travel size for the entire stay?

19 Replies 19
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Matt585 Oh, I'm no angel myself- it's really hard to get away from plastics, because so many things are packaged that way. There's some places in the world where it's not that hard to find alternatives if you seek them out, others, not so much.

I was leery to use glass or pottery pump bottles because my place has tile floors and concrete countertops, so I could foresee them gettting easily broken. I just happened on some aluminum pump containers painted in cool colors in a dollar store. But when I went back looking for more, there weren't any 😞

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

And in a small deviation, I used to have small plastic bags lining bathroom bin. I now have a small paper bag, like a lunch bag. That's maybe 300 plastic bags a year I don't have to throw out. It is the small accumulation that matters, as in tiny tiny bottles multiplied by a million listings multiplied by a lot of guest nights.

I don't line the bathroom bin at home, just at the accommodation.

@Sandra126 I do the same, or use leftover plastic bread bags or random plastic bags that my guests leave behind for the bathroom bin. And the main garbage bin (more of a pail) is lined with old newspaper, or spare paper carry bags. Most of my guests are pretty cool with it & are happy to leave me their paper & plastic bags. Getting some of them used to my compost bin is a bit of a challenge I've found.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Manuel621