Single use shampoos and how many to provide

Manuel621
Level 2
Sydney, Australia

Single use shampoos and how many to provide

Hi, 

I am new to hosting and trying to work out what suits me best when it comes to providing shampoo and conditioner. If i state that i offer shampoo and conditioner and i provide single use (travel size) do i then need to provide one per person per day? or just have one travel size for the entire stay?

19 Replies 19
Matt585
Level 2
Pittsburgh, PA

Hi Manuel,

I have just started providing shampoo, conditioner and shower gel (soap).  I have found 1 of each in each full bathroom is sufficient.  I leave them for our guests so they have something that can get them through a couple days.  If I get a guest that is there a week or more then I would leave a couple of each.  Hope that helps.

Matt

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Manuel621  Many hosts are trying to eliminate single use plastic containers- it's so bad for the environment. What works well is to buy those things in bulk, then have some pump dispensers that can be refilled. The not only are you not contributing to the planet's plastic problem, it's more economical and you can just top them up as needed, without worrying if you're providing enough for a guest's stay.

I love when @Sarah977 write what I think so I don't have to 🙂

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

Please, @Manuel621, avoid single use plastics in every way you can. There is just no need for it. If you are thinking luxury, get a luxury product in larger pack. I know I am repeating what @Sarah977 says but it is worth repeating!

I was given a large box of single use stuff from friends who closed their boutique hotel, tried to get rid of it for years by putting bottles in the accommodation but my guests preferred what I had in larger bottles. Gave the box to charity in the end.

Aim for less waste, guests appreciate it. Please.