Unresponsive guests after removing instant book

Erin160
Level 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Unresponsive guests after removing instant book

I am very new to hosting, and after testing it out for two weeks last month, and getting booking from two great guests who were a delight to host, I decided to unblock more dates in my calendar.

As I was still figuring out the whole process of booking, I had instant book on and ended up having to cancel on a guest as the demand was too high and check in times that i had already agreed overlapped. I have then decided to turn instant book off, as I feel a lot happier knowing i can accept bookings around my avaliabilities, and also feel a bit safer being able to have a look at the people trying to book.

Since turning instant book off, all the inquiries i have had either dont reply, even when I have pre approved their booking, meaning it expires. Or they have already booked somewhere else in the time it takes me to reply (usually only an hour or so if i am at work). Is this usual? It seems weird that I can have so much luck with instant book on, but totally unresponsive guests that dont follow through with the booking with it off! I feel much safer with instant book off, having also had a request that made me feel uncomfortable, but also glad I didnt have instant book on! But if i dont get any bookings then whats the point?

4 Replies 4
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

@Erin160 From my experience with IB on: I turned it on in May when Airbnb offered no penalty for cancellations. I noticed an increase in bookings, though I had been booked even without IB - using another big website. IB makes some guests more decisive, it also attracts such. There will always be queries from those who "don't know yet" or "have asked other hosts," but their number has significantly decreased with IB on.