Why would you want to start hosting?

Craig302
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Why would you want to start hosting?

Hey everybody, 

I am a student working on a research project for school. It is a business project that looks at this amazing platform (Airbnb). I have managed to get tons of great information reading through the various threads. But there is one thing that still eludes me. And I am hoping that reaching out to all of you will help me in getting the answers I need for my assignment. 

I am saying thank you ahead of time!!!

So here we go. I would really love if some of you would not mind telling me the following:

1. What was it that motivated you to start hosting your spare home or space?

2. What are the greatest struggles and joys you experience as hosts?

3. What would you change if you could?

I really appreciate all the help I can get, and I hope you all have a wonderful holiday! 

Craig

23 Replies 23
Pete28
Level 10
Seattle, WA

Easy

Money

Having to put up with random guests demands

Make more money so I could quit Airbnb 🙂

Craig302
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Thanks Pete

John1080
Level 10
Westcliffe, CO

1. I host because it pays my mortgage on my second home. 

2. Hoping all guests will follow rules and not damage anything.

3. Wish there was a real deposit as peace of mind for hosts. 

Craig302
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Thanks John!

Gordon0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

1. Money
2. Entitled guests
3. A 'No snowflakes' filter

Craig302
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Thanks Gordon!

Craig302
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

These replies are so great. Has anyone ever considered using the income to pay for College funds, or to allow you to be able to afford traveling yourself?

Paradoxically once you start doing Airbnb it becomes very difficult to travel - your calendar fills up with bookings you can't cancel months ahead of time. Each week you block off in summer can be $1k in revenue 😞