First bad review after 6 straight 5* scores in all categories and overall.

Answered!
Delwyn3
Level 6
Raglan, New Zealand

First bad review after 6 straight 5* scores in all categories and overall.

I am new to hosting and I have been thrilled with my first 6 reviews, they have all been 5*, in all categories and overall.   Sadly today I was floored with a 3* overall and 5 for all categories except 3 for cleanliness and 4 for value (with the comment cleanliness).

The guest states in the private comments that there were cockroaches in the bathroom and the kitchen needed to be cleaned before use.

If this is true then I deserve the 3* but I am surprised as I have had 4 previous "Compliments" of "Sparkling Clean".   I would like to find out exactly what was wrong with the kitchen so I can address it with my cleaner but am not sure how to go about asking him.

The guests communication had been amazing before arrival, but went very quiet after letting me know he had arrived.  I was not worried as it was only a 2 night stay and just assumed they were enjoying themselves.
At no point did he let me know things were not up to scratch so I had no opportunity to correct.   What is also very upsetting is he claims the broadband only worked for 2 hours.   Well now my next guest has no broadband and this is very annoying as if the guest who has given me this bad review had let me know it might have been fixed by now for my current guest!

So I have lost my lovely all 5 ratings, and have been reduced to 4.71.    

I have read about the concept of outlier reviews but am I right in thinking I have too few reviews for this to be considered an outlier?

I gave this guest a glowing review and complimented his communication.  He had no previous reviews. Well I now regret that as not telling me something was not working is very poor communication.