Guest accountability -Guests not reading House Rules or messages.

Kristin108
Level 10
Scotts Mills, OR

Guest accountability -Guests not reading House Rules or messages.

I am a full time professional host with superhost status. I have 3 listings that I have been hosting for nine years.

My properties are booked at 100% through the end of September and most of October... And I do enjoy what I am doing...

My property is unique as I am on a 67 acer farm in the foothills, outside Portland, OR. So there are important details the require a phone call... As I do not have cell service here at the farm, I require ALL guests call me on my landline before check in. This avoids people getting lost, etc... Or driving the long way 3 miles on a gravel road. But it also creates a rapport, (I hope) so guests feel they have a connection with me as the owner.

But I am continually frustrated with the issue of guests not reading either my detailed descriptions on my three listings, or the messages I send out after the guests has booked.

As this is now August 2021, it seems like peoples brains have turned to mush! The sense of entitlement guests appear to have is astounding! 

What happened to guest accountability? 

People do NOT wash their hands, they do NOT properly wash their dishes, even though I have a new, expensive dishwasher... They continually break wine glasses and don't bother to mention it or offer to pay for them...  And they do NOT empty the trash! Often with used tampons and or dirty diapers!!

They do not even properly flush the toilet... And the list goes on...

I have always required an initial meet and greet and walk through, because my properties are not 'cookie cutter'.  I have to show each guest where to park and where the trails are, etc... 

This check in process is ALL outlined in my automated message when guests book. And I recap a few days before they arrive. But to no avail!