Regarding the solution in case of disputes between guests and landlords

夏3
Level 2
China

Regarding the solution in case of disputes between guests and landlords

Hi, I'm a law student in the UK and I'd like to know about how disputes between guests and landlords are resolved in the event of a dispute, would it usually be through litigation, arbitration or mediation? I would be grateful for any help you can provide!

1 Reply 1

Hi there,
As a fellow host, I can share some insights based on my experience and general practices in the short-term rental industry, particularly with platforms like Airbnb.
In the event of a dispute between guests and landlords (or hosts), there are a few avenues that can be pursued, depending on the nature of the disagreement:
1. Mediation: Platforms like Airbnb generally encourage mediation first. They have a Resolution Center where both parties can communicate and try to reach an amicable agreement. If both sides are willing to compromise, this can be the quickest and least costly way to resolve disputes.
2. Arbitration: If mediation doesn’t resolve the issue, many platforms, including Airbnb, have arbitration clauses in their terms of service. This means that disputes are often settled by a neutral third-party arbitrator rather than going through the court system. Arbitration is typically faster and less formal than litigation, but the decisions are binding.
3. Litigation: In cases where disputes cannot be resolved through mediation or arbitration, or if the issue falls outside the scope of the platform’s policies, litigation might be the next step. This involves taking the case to court, where a judge will make a binding decision. Litigation can be time-consuming and expensive, so it’s usually considered a last resort.