Ayman38
Level 1
Chicago, IL

Hey everyone, I just started hosting on Airbnb about a month ago. I’ve had little experience with Airbnb in the past so I didn’t really have a standard to base my experience as a host against. But so far so good, I have to say. I’ve had about five separate guests - all of which have been relatively respectful, responsive and clean. 

question for everyone here - what’re some things I should be expecting as a host? For example I get upset when there are still dirty dishes in the sink. I’m starting to realize that there are certain things I need to come to accept as the norm. The other day While cleaning after a guest, I opened the garbage can to throw something in and found used tampons. I realize this is normal and my first reaction was to be furious but then I realized I wasn’t allowed to be mad - so what are other things similar to my examples that I should expect? And what are some things I’m justified in being upset about.

6 Replies 6
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Finding what is "normal" and what you are justified in terms of response, is more individual than you would think, @Ayman38 .  I have mellowed over the last 4 years and am more acceptable than I used to be.  While you might think cleanliness or the lack of it is the biggest issue, for me, it is lack of boundaries or consideration.  For example I had a lady take food out of my refrigerator to use for a picnic lunch she was making...WTF!?  Or I had a group of 4 young people sit at the dining table which is right outside my bedroom door and carry on a discussion at 11 at night.   You will have certain buttons that can be pushed but your norm and the guest norm are usually going to be different.  

There are several really good discussion threads on what a new host should know.  I believe you can find them in the Community Center Help section using search terms new host

Michelle53
Level 10
Chicago, IL