Booking violation regardless of house rules.

Deborah82
Level 10
Toodyay, Australia

Booking violation regardless of house rules.

I'm new to Airbnb, and in fact new to hosting.

We opened our cottage up on the first of this month. Thanks to Airbnb we've had some fantastic guests so far.

However, I've had to cancel one booking already, and tonight have requested someone that has booked, to withdraw their booking.

We can only accomodate three people - both of these bookings (so they informed me) were for four people - even though they only officially booked two. 

The first set of people also told me that they have a wee dog that only comes inside if there is a storm (at least I believe that was what they inferred), yet we clearly state in No Pets.

Both parties informed me that they had small children - you guessed it, we also clearly state No Children.

Our property has a creek running through it - as it's midwinter here it's in full flow - NOT a safe place for a child. We also have an uncapped well on the property - another safety concern for us. Sure it's contained, but children like to explore!

Also, our cottage is raised - a pole home - and although it has verandahs with railings and balustrades on the staircases, I have no child proofing on those stairs or verandahs. 

I don't want a child to be injured or worse on my property - yet people with children keep trying to book.

Without offending anyone, how do I stop these people from applying?

The first one that booked, I replied to their message, stating that we coud not accept children or pets on the property (I won't bore you with the details, but I was kind but assertive) as stipulated on the advertisement - and then I cancelled their booking.  This affected our 'accuracy' rating. Probably because on the surface their booking was for two people, when in reality it was actually for four.

I'm stressing about this, because I don't like turning people away. I don't want to have to continually do this.