Considering Hosting

Considering Hosting

Hi, I have a new 2 bedroom house with a beautiful view in a country area that is frequented by tourists on weekends.  I am interested in perhaps hosting the whole house on weekends and staying in my daughter's house ( which is actually on the same rural property) while guests are there.  What concerns me is how difficult is that to manage with all your day to day living things in the house. Do I need to move most of my stuff out? What do I do with say clothes in the wardrobes, my things in cupboards, my freezer & cupboards in the house which have my food in them? How do people deal with this or do they only rent out dedicated spaces that they have none of their personal belongings in?

4 Replies 4
Imtiaz2
Level 2
Maidenhead, United Kingdom

Hi Diane,

the decision to host can be daunting as like you have found most of it is about your personal space no longer being personal.

I’ve been hosting for just over two years now.  My place started out with one room which soon spiralled to three rooms owing to popularity.

what you decide to do is largely driven by your own comfort level.

if you are happy to list an entire place, just make notes along the advert that you live in the property while it is not rented out and therefore guests should expect and respect personal belongings.

things like the freezer/fridge you can’t mark as off limits unless you are supplying a guest fridge - which would be a crazy fix.

that said, the only one room I never rented out was my own bedroom which has a lock and key.

my house is my home so like yours is littered with possessions, however I keep anything personal like documents and paperwork in my room and away from guest reach.  That may not be as easy for you since you want to rent the whole place.  Perhaps consider a lockable filing cabinet?