Do I have to leave a review for unreasonable guest?

Walee0
Level 2
Maudsland, Australia

Do I have to leave a review for unreasonable guest?

Hi, I had a guest request for money refund and I already accepted because I don’t want this guest to leave bad review. I am new to airbnb host.

However I think she made unfair compliant of sheet smell but we checked after they left we couldn’t smell like she said. They booked for 2 night (around $400 inc cleaning). They asked $300 for refund. If she had contacted me on the night i could have managed to reset all beds for them  ( i live near them). 

Now I am having notificatons for leaving guests review. If I don’t leave a review, is it going to affect me in any way? My concern is ..if i leave bad review they will give me bad review as well. I just thought I paid $300 refund for continueing my business as I already invested a lot of money and i don’t want her review to interupt future bookings.

Thanks!
Walee

13 Replies 13
Steve143
Level 10
Limerick, Ireland

Hello @Walee0,

Giving a refund to a guest doe not guarantee a good review. They can still leave a bad review.

They cannot see your review until after they leave a review for you. So they cannot leave a bad review just because they read a bad one from you.

Airbnb works on trust and reviews. Please leave an honest review for this guest. Otherwise they can keep doing the same thing to other hosts. Maybe their last host didn't leave them an honest review because he or she didn't want to. That could be why you now have to deal with this guest.

If you don't leave a review and the guest does, their review will appear on your profile and listing page 14 days after checkout.

Please leave an honest review so as other hosts can know what your experience was with them.

Steve.