Fraudulent guest?

Answered!

Fraudulent guest?

Hello, I am new to hosting.  So far so good and I love airbnb.  I received an inquiry from someone name John and he wanted to rent the entire year for his family of 10 people.  I became suspicious because the amount that he was willing to pay for is in over what the normal credit card or debit card charge normally allows.  I also noticed he just joined Airbnb in Sept which is this same month; he has no profile picture; he appears speaking in Chinese (I do not speak Chinese) and has some kinds of application translating in English which most times not showing an accurate meaning of his questions and answers.  I replied asking about his intent (twice) to rent this long term and he did not provide an answer.  I intentionally did not reply to him for 1 day and when I did again, he would reply instantly as if he is sitting at the computer waitng to reply back, at all hours.  This evening, he asked for a video of the house, which I did not provide.  Followed my instinct, I decided to decline his request but really wanted to ask the community to see if anyone sees this activity as being fraudulent, if so, is that often?   Any feedback of your similar experience is appreciated.  Thank you.

1 Best Answer
Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Chinh10  Anyone renting their property for a year should IMO NOT be using AirBnB.  If you want to accept an offer to rent your property for a year, the renter should be given a legal contract (under your local law) to sign, be sent through a bank verification process, and pay a damage or security deposit equal to 1 or 2 months rent.  

I would NEVER EVER rent long term through AirBnB.  Know your local law about long term renters and their rights and be aware of how AirBnB's policies and practices meet or do not meet your local law.

View Best Answer in original post

8 Replies 8
Basha0
Level 10
Penngrove, CA