My guest has a cat

Jane691
Level 2
Elmira, OR

My guest has a cat

Hello. I am fairly new to hosting on Airbnb, so I have accepted a guest with a cat. They are staying for a month, and I have now met the guest and her cat, and I have concerns of potential damage that the cat might cause to furniture and carpeting. 

I like my guest very much and she seems open to communication. What do you suggest? Should I write up some kind of agreement such that if her cat damages any furniture etc. that she will provide reimbursement for reasonable replacement costs? Other suggestions? 

17 Replies 17
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Jane691   Your listing looks very cute and comfy!  The Air BNB policies are different for long term stays.  Go to Help Center and read about both the cancellation policy and the payout policy if you have not already done that.  Do you have a security deposit for your listing?  As you probably know, Air BNB does not actually collect the deposit on behalf of the host, but the guest agrees that Air BNB has access to the payment method to withdraw funds when Air BNB agrees that there is damage caused by the guest.  If you are seeking a separate deposit with the guest outside of Air BNB, I believe that is against the Terms with Air BNB.

You are obviously pet friendly, but this is your first cat, right?  Do you have general rules about pet on the property?  I love both cats and dogs, but do not allow other animals on my property as I have a dog and do not want to deal with the behavior of other pets.  One thought about cats that is a bit different in my mind is that more people are allergic to cat dander than dogs so  you will have additional cleaning efforts when this guest leaves.  

Jane691
Level 2
Elmira, OR

Thank you, Linda. I didn’t even think about the thoroughness of cleaning after a cat. And now I remember, I’m allergic to cats. I will read the help center.