Opt out of occupancy tax?

Andrew106
Level 1
Beaufort, SC

Opt out of occupancy tax?

Hey all, just wondering if anyone knows whether it's possible to opt-out of occupancy tax collection by Airbnb. Now that they've started collecting it, it's making my monthly tax situation more complicated. We're listed on multiple sites, so previously every month I'd tally our monthly totals from all sources and fill out my state tax forms, and then my city tax form (which will not be included in Airbnb's collection). Now it seems as if I'll have to exclude Airbnb income from my state forms but still include it on my city form, which just strikes me as a pain in the butt and makes it more likely that I'll screw something up. Anyone know if I can just go back to the way it was before?

5 Replies 5
Stacey51
Level 2
Beaufort, SC

Did you figure this out? I am new to short term rentals in beaufort, sc. I am sure if i still pay the city of beaufort the 3%? 

If Airbnb collects the occupancy tax directly, then they pay the city or state on your behalf.  We live in Washington State, and like other states, Airbnb pays the occupancy tax to our State Department of Revenue directly and we have access to the tax form on our profile here on the Airbnb website.  So, no, if Airbnb pays the city or state ocupancy tax, don't pay it.  I suggest you make sure you are compliant with your city and state business and tax regulations directly with those agencies, and not wait until the end of the year.