San Diego regulations

Amy-and-Dave0
Level 1
San Diego, CA

San Diego regulations

Hi, I'm new to the Airbnb community.  We are just starting out, and I was looking over the San Diego Regulations, and it seems very complicated.  Other then the TOT tax form, what other permits are required for renting out a "Back House" that is attached to our main house, which is our primary reseidence?  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

12 Replies 12
Marc-and-Josie0
Level 1
San Diego, CA

Dave, Did you ever find out the answer to this question? I am wondering the same thing. Correct me if I am wrong but Airbnb collects the TOT tax on our behalf and there is really nothing that we need to do correct? Except maybe apply for the certificate, did you do that?

Maya29
Level 2
San Diego, CA

I had a meeting with the TOT tax board about this last year. Airbnb does collect the taxes on your behalf, however, you still need to apply for the TOT certificate (which is free) and then every 4 months or so, do a print screen on all the teaxes paid via Airbnb and email it to the TOT office showing that you're paying diligently. Don't forget to include your TOT Certificate number. They will print out a copy and put it in your permanant file. Please take a look at my page. I am very thorough. You don't want any issues with taxes or guests. Suggestion: Leave the Instant Book feature off. 

Hi Maya,

we are thinking to start using Airbnb to rent out our place in gaslamp. what do we need to start? license? Taxes?

It is very confusing and we don't want to get in trouble with the city regulations. 

Thank you so much for your help

Julie 🙂

Hi Maya,

Did you get any information about hosts who have been renting before 2015?  I've been a host since 2012 and I just got a letter from the City of San Diego that I owe them the TOT and TMD taxes, including late fees between 2012-2015.  Do you have any info that could help me?  Thanks much, Kati

Jessica165
Level 2
Vista, CA