Why work to maintain a 4.9/5 star consistent rating & superhost status when 1 lousy rating ruins it?

Cheryl451
Level 2
Dolphin Coast, South Africa

Why work to maintain a 4.9/5 star consistent rating & superhost status when 1 lousy rating ruins it?

Hi all - so my husband and I have been hosting for over 2 years now (it's a room in our home). We've worked really hard at providing guests with a top-notch experience which is reflected in our reviews (currently at 5 stars). So we had a guest this weekend past. He asked for an early check-in (10am) which I agreed to and also to add a 2nd guest the day prior to his arrival which I also agreed to. At 11am on check in day (with no message or call from him) I finally sent a What's App advising that my husband and I were going out of town for his 50th birthday and could not wait any longer for him to arrive. But that it wasn't a problem as our friend Lucky was house and dog-sitting. I What's Apped him Lucky's contact details and gave Lucky his and then advised him to communicate with Lucky who would then greet him and show him around. I heard nothing all weekend from this guest (his booking was Friday - Monday).

On Monday morning my husband I finally started to make our way back home from our camping weekend with mates. I check my What's App and see a message from an unknown number. It is this guest from another number saying he needs Lucky's number again because he didn't put it in this other phone and our dogs are barking at him. I sent a reply saying 'Sorry but I only picked this up now'. I then called Lucky to ask if everything was resolved. He said it was fine and that he had just stepped out for an hour to get some food. He let the guests in and they then woke him the early morning to let them out after they apparently showered.