host wants personal information through email

Stephanie28
Level 1
Clermont, FL

host wants personal information through email

Hello! I have an airbnb reserved in one city and am looking for another in another city. I found one we really like, but I am concerned it may be a little fishy. Host wants me to email my personal information to him/her directly and not through the website. Is this common practice? Host suggested payment be through the website...

New to this, so just want some input. Thx

22 Replies 22
Marla2
Level 2
Louisville, KY

My husband are new to Airbrb. We will be hosting 10 people at the same reservation. The guest informed it was family coming to a celebration near by. My question is- Should I ask name and informations of all the guests? I plan to ask full names . What else should I ask for?

Thank you

M

David1485
Level 1
Barrington, IL

This is my first time.  Host has asked "Please send me your email address and phone number, and you'll receive an email from my associate that incldues your reservation details, ..."

Is this normal procedure?

@David1485

No !!  It is probably an attempted scam. Stay clear.

@David1485 Never, ever go off Airbnb's website to communicate with a host prior to a confirmed reservation.  If you communicate and / or pay by any means outside of Airbnb's website, you are on your own and Airbnb would be able to help you. 

This is true even if someone sends you an "invoice" with payment procedures (usually to pay by bank transfer) that looks like an Airbnb document.  It's not. 

See this link to safely book on Airbnb: 

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/209/why-should-i-pay-and-communicate-through-airbnb-directly

Hope this helps!

Dan306
Level 2
Auckland, New Zealand