Commercial Airbnb Property Management

Wesley67
Level 2
Plymouth, United Kingdom

Commercial Airbnb Property Management

Whilst I can see this has been explored by quite a few other hosts, I feel as though I'm potentially in a position of market power. Where I live there's just shy of 500 homes and no other Airbnb property management companies within the area. I have been hosting for almost 6 months and am enjoying the whole journey and concept so I want to expand but without having to buy my own homes. 

I have set up a business but am in the very early stages. So far it's just a website and some heavy social media and search engine advertising. Are there many other people on here that actively manage others properties and if so, what are the biggest hurdles you've found? 

I'm struggling with how I would go about contacting potential hosters to take over their property. I'm not in the estate agent industry and my contact network is limited. Although unconventional, I feel the only way is to enquire about their property as if I were wanting to make a booking. 

So my questions summarised:

1. How are you getting your name out there to other hosters and building a portfolio?
  2. Is there anything I need to watch out for that you missed?
  3. Do you find it's consuming a lot of your time?

Thanks in advance for your help and I too am welcome to any questions.

8 Replies 8
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Wesley67,

Some remarks:

You need an airbnb business acount (what after Brexit ?? )

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/1321/legal-obligations-of-eu-business-hosts-offering-accommodati...

You could also act as a co-host first to manage a property for a host

Contacting a host via "contact host" textlink on a listing: Sending a commercial message maybe will not be appriciated or even not allowed (?, read Airbnb terms for that)

Wesley67
Level 2
Plymouth, United Kingdom