Declining a Request

Marieanne1
Level 2
Castleton, United Kingdom

Declining a Request

Good afternoon,

I have been hosting for about 18 months on Airbnb but this is the first time I've had to consider declining a request to book. The guest has requested a three night stay over New Year 2020, I do request a minimum of 3 nights booking is requiired, but Christmas and New Year I like to get 7 night bookings so that I don't lose dates in between and it means I can enjoy the festive season myself. . If I decline this enquiry does it go against me with my Superhost status? I work very hard to maintain Superhost, above and beyond my husband reckons, so I would be really cheesed off if it does effect my status.

Do we, as the hosts, have any flexibility on who we do and don't accept? I've read some previous chats and it looks like we have very little control. I'm a tad worried...

5 Replies 5
Helen3
Top Contributor
Bristol, United Kingdom

No you don't get penalised unless you decline most of the requests you receive (see Airbnb Help Centre).

Have you set the listings so that there is a minimum seven nights stay for this period?

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Marieanne, instead of always having to decline these requests why don't you change the minimum night stay requirement for those dates. That way guests will not be able to enter the 3 days only the required 7.  They may message you to inquire about a shorter stay but you do not need to approve or decline inquiry so you'll be in the clear.

Screen Shot 2018-12-29 at 2.35.15 PM.png

Paul154
Level 10
Seattle, WA

OMG, you accept reservations one year out?

My flighty side can't imagine where I'm going to be 3 days from now!

Anyways....

Use "Rule sets" for the holiday days.

You can set the days around xmas to only accept 7 day minimums