Expectations for summer slowdown in Sarasota, Florida

Nigel95
Level 2
Sarasota, FL

Expectations for summer slowdown in Sarasota, Florida

Hello everyone,

I'm looking for some input concerning my particular circumstance here in Sarasota, Florida,. We are relatively new to hosting (about 4 months) and I am new to Sarasota although my wife is a long time resident who owns a small restaurant and so is more in-tune to ther swings of Season & off-Season. 

We have a guest house on our property and since the beginning of November up through mid-April we are booked about 70% of the dates which we think is awesome.

We're looking at making a decison about summer when Sarasota is in a seasonal slow down. Sarasota is a big SnowBird area and so winter time is very heavy but folks from up north and overseas vacation in the summer or so its my experience. Our option is to do one of 3 things:

We can continue to list, while lowering our rates, and hope for the best.

We can pull it off the short term market and try to rent to a local renter for the 4 or 5 months of our off-season.

We can rent to a family member/student who would pay below-market rent but would at least ensure some flow of income and we have someone already who would do this. This rate would be less than half what I believ a local 4-5 month renter would pay. 

I guess my question would be, how busy might I expect the Sarasota (or Florida in general) area to be this coming summer. Should I expect a severe drop in bookings and make alternate plans or do hosts down here generally do ok in the summer?

Thanks so much for any thoughts or input. 

7 Replies 7
Mo-and-Don0
Level 2
Sarasota, FL

Hi Nigel !