Is this a fake listing? Help!

Mi18
Level 2
Houston, TX

Is this a fake listing? Help!

Is this a fake listing? This is my first time using AirBNB! My husband and I and our 6 kids under 10 are traveling to Europe and we found a AirBNB in London for two nights that is centrally located and seems nice! I asked how I get the inside the place and the host wrote back "I will meet you and give you the keys when you arrive." But there are no reviews. The host just added a second listing. Still no reviews. I then wrote the host twice in the last few days, but he has not responded. Advice? 

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/38059257?bev_ref=&c=.pi80.pkYm9va2luZy92MV9taWdyYXRpb24vcmVzZXJ2YXRpb25...

36 Replies 36
Jennifer311
Level 5
Port Washington, NY

I’d wouldn’t go any further until he replies.

Doesn’t say he has a 10-night minimum?

If he doesn’t reply, I would look for a place that has reviews. If you have tried to contact him saying you only need it for tonight, maybe he just doesn’t care enough to answer since he wants longer bookings. But he needs to build up his profile and get some reviews and asking for a 10-night minimum is not a great way to start in my opinion

I am already booked and paid. There was no minimum number of days when I booked about 3 weeks ago. 

Jennifer311
Level 5
Port Washington, NY

If he’s a new host without any other listings,

he will be motivated to get good reviews for his listing to get off to a good start.

He does have a flexible cancellation policy,

(Look this up to see what it means for you, depending on how far away you are from your booking)

so if you have serious concerns you could always look to see a similar property that also meets your needs with someone who has been reviewed and is more responsive to your questions. 

On the other hand, as a host, just a tip:

sometimes if somebody has a *lot* of questions we worry that they might be a bit high maintenance or difficult to satisfy.