Naming & shaming

David-and-Shully0
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

Naming & shaming

Hi fellow hosts.

I have been hosting o Airbnb for a few months and overall it has been agreat experience. However, we have had 2 sets of guests who have left the house in varying states of dissaray and dirt. Lights left on all day, heating turned up to max etc..

What I would like to know is other than giving these guests a bad review and risking their wrath in return, what other options do us hosts have to warn fellow hosts?

Is there a website  where we can upload details of bad guests together with photo evidence? Then other hosts could check to see if potential guests have been "blacklisted".

What are your thoughts on this? 

Shully

15 Replies 15
Karen-and-Brian0
Level 10
Bragg Creek, Canada

Hi @David-and-Shully0 Not sure if public shaming is the way to go - a far more effective and completely innocuous way to warn other hosts is simply to include "may be better suited to a hotel" in your review. That is host code for AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

There is nothing to stop guests who receive scathing reviews from deleting their account & getting a new one, starting fresh and carrying on being vile guests. The "may be better suited to a hotel" tag on their profile deosn't seem to spook them, but is definitely beneficial for other hosts. My 2 cents. 🙂 Karen

Hi Karen

Thanks for your input. We will certainly consider it.

It is just so fustrating when you have put so much time and effort into getting your place into pristeen condition and going out of your way communicating with guests and even out of hours check ins. To then find that the guests leave the house in such a mess and there is so little you can do to warn other hosts other than leaving a bad review... 😞

Shully

Deborah1
Level 10
Beaufort, SC