Payments

Payments

Hello everyone,

Im new to this and am just starting this month. I have some very newby type questions, so please bear with me. Sorry if these questions seem silly.

Ive noticed some listings charge a deposit at time of booking. Is this paid to us on booking or after the guest arrives? 

How much does air b n b charge ? I can’t seem to find out. How long do they take to pay you ? 

Can I specify a minimum stay ie 3 days? 

I dont know  how much to charge, how do I decide this?  It’s a whole house, character property that sleeps 6. 

How do I make sure there are no stag/ hen parties? Can I specify this? 

Ladtly, do I charge VAT on top of price? 

Thanks.

Amanda

3 Replies 3
Jeff158
Level 10
Caernarfon, United Kingdom

@Amanda1108   you're a bit of a dog but still good looking ;), add a proper photo.

Deposit is not charged to guest at any time, its an amount they might be charged if naughty.

Airbnb charges hosts 3% +vat, payouts are 24hrs after guests check in and can take 5 days to reach your bank.

Yes to any min or max stay

Look on airbnb for competitors and see what they charge.

Yes you can specify no parties

Your nightly rate has to include vat if you are registered to charge vat

This link has lots of answers to questions, have fun.

https://www.airbnb.com/help/all_topics

Kath9
Level 10
Albany, Australia

@Amanda1108,

I agree with @Jeff158 - update your profile photo to one of you. Just as we hosts like to see a photo of our prospective guests rather than, say, a sunset, they like to see a photo of us.

To answer your questions:

1. No one gets the deposit. It is just a safety net if the guest causes any damage. I believe the safety net has quite a few holes in it, but it's probably worth doing anyway.
  2. Airbnb charges 3-20% service fee depending on a number of factors. I'm not sure what you'll be charged but you'll find out after your first booking.