As a host, how can you protect yourself from predator?

As a host, how can you protect yourself from predator?

Hi all,

I've been hosting with Airbnb since 2017. I have noticed this issue on my lower price home. This is the second time it happened. These guests stayed at my home, and when it's almost time to check out, they come up with some reasons and demand a refund. In this last case, the guests accused that the home has roaches. I immediately sent my property manager out. NO Roach was found but we found the home in disarray. They left open bags of chip on the floor, dirty dishes on the beds and in the sink. Now they are demanding a refund. I'm at a limbo. I take this business very seriously and our team try very hard to provide a pleasant experience. If I don't give a refund, I will get a 1-star rating. If I do, it's not fair. Please help!

9 Replies 9
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Vee4   There is not  much you can do to make a guest provide a good review especially a guest who might be scamming you.  It is always a good idea to provide a response to the reviews, good or bad, so potential guests will see that you care.  It also will give you an opportunity to provide a short explanation of any complaints.  For example, if the review mentions roaches, your response could point out that food left out on the counters and in the beds would attract roaches.

Make sure you review all guests whether they review you or not.  Especially review messy, inconsiderant ones.

Thanks!

Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Vee4 

Did the guest mention "no refund then bad review ?". If so, then it is called an "extorsion", and the policy is clear about it:

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/548/what-is-airbnb-s-extortion-policy

So be sure you have the communication in your message system  and contact Airbnb:

Contact Airbnb - Community Guide [Updated]

Best regards,

Emiel