Need advice on writing review about disgusting guest

Answered!
Suzanne313
Level 2
Holywood, United Kingdom

Need advice on writing review about disgusting guest

Good morning!

I hope someone can help me out with advice. I am new to Airbnb as a host, and have just hosted my 4th lot of guests, most of whom have been amazing to date. My place was booked by 2 guys, one of whom has 9 positive reviews from other hosts (although I think most of these were for when he was travelling with his family).

When I went around to clean the house, it was all pretty much fine, except that one of the guys had taken one of facecloths and ejaculated into it, and left it encrusted in the bottom of the shower unit. I don't know what other hosts' experiences are, but I think that's pretty disgusting. 

I don't know whether to say something, or just not leave a review. I'm new to Airbnb and don't want to look like I'm a 'difficult host'. What happens if I don't leave a review,will the guest's review be published (although I don't know if their review will be positive or negative)? Or should I flag this up with the guest in a private message?

I would really appreciate some advice.

Many thanks,

Suzanne

1 Best Answer

@Suzanne313

I agree with @Marzena4 that as a warning to fellow hosts you should write something to reflect the guests were "not good" but not go into any details. If it were me, I'd say something like "Guest and friend did not handle amenities provided by host with respect or care. I would not welcome these guests into my home again." 

When I'm planning to leave a not-so-nice review, I always write a draft and wait till I get notice that the guest has reviewed me first before I post mine or I wait until day 13 after checkout to post it. 

View Best Answer in original post

20 Replies 20
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland