A guest checked out and left the place a mess

Diane514
Level 2
Menands, NY

A guest checked out and left the place a mess

I think that I know the answer but would love someone to contribute more ideas.  Background:  I was a tourism/hospitality professional for 32 years before retiring and starting an AirBNB for our winter home.

My listing is new.  I installed new flooring, and all of the furniture is new with designer accessories.  It is in Florida so I invested in Tommy Bahama finishes and paintings. (I have to live there over the winter).   My first guest left the place a mess.  My cleaning lady provided me with pictures as evidence.  My guest left stains on the new furniture, left frying oil in my pans and did not do the dishes.  She did not strip the bed and left her garbage in the driveway which was attacked by birds and other wildlife.  The stains left on the sheets cannot be remediated.  A complete set of towels in different colors were left for each quest so that they could tell them apart.  They were there for a week.

Obviously I gave them a bad review.  Their rebuttal said that disposing of garbage was tedious and too much to ask. Yes it is a 1/8 of a mile walk to the community dumpster.  She did not have a car.   She said that I left no broom for cleaning and not enough garbage bags for the week.)These were in the utility closet along with extra garbage bags, noodles for the pool, etc)   The sheets were left on the bed because the floor was too dirty (their doing) to leave them on the floor (a laundry bin was provided)  She also said that we should leave at least two sets of towels for guests who are there for a week. 

There was a four page book of house rules and check out instructions that she admits she did not read because they were too busy on vacation to meet that expectation.  I personally her defence is outrageous.  She simply did not care for the place that I planned so carefully for my guests.